Dumfries and Galloway Divisional Licensing Boards

The Dumfries and Galloway Licensing Boards are the statutory licensing authority under the Licensing (Scotland) Act 2005 and the Gambling Act 2005.

There are four separate Divisional Licensing Boards for Dumfries and Galloway. The Boards meet to determine relevant applications and discuss related matters.

  • Nithsdale Divisional Licensing Board
  • Annandale and Eskdale Divisional Licensing Board
  • Stewartry Divisional Licensing Board
  • Wigtown Divisional Licensing Board

View the live stream of meetings and download agenda packs and minutes >>

Licensing policies and principles

The Boards are under a duty to publish a number of local policies and guidance documents which inform decision-making. These documents are reviewed regularly.

If you require a hard copy, please contact the Licensing Board by email licensing@dumgal.gov.uk

Dumfries and Galloway Licensing Board Licensing (Scotland) Act 2005 

Publication of Licensing Policy Statement 

The four Divisional Licensing Boards within Dumfries and Galloway (comprising the Annandale and Eskdale Divisional Licensing Board; the Nithsdale Divisional Licensing Board; the Stewartry Divisional Licensing Board and the Wigtown Divisional Licensing Board) have finalised their renewed Licensing Policy Statement in terms of Section 6 of the Act and have published this Statement on 4 November 2023

The Statement outlines the principles which the Boards propose to apply in exercising their functions under the Act.  It also includes Assessment of Overprovision in terms of Section 7 of the Act.

The renewed Licensing Policy Statement can be accessed below:

A copy of the Statement will also be available for inspection free of charge within:

  • Kirkbank, English Street, Dumfries, DG1 2HS
  • Council Offices, Sun Street, Stranraer, DG9 7JJ

Annual reports

The boards are required to publish an Annual Functions Report and Annual Financial Report within 3 months of the end of the relevant financial year. However, for reasons relating to Coronavirus and by virtue of the Boards' powers under the Coronavirus (Scotland) Act 2020, the annual finance and functions report for financial year 2021/2022 have been published by 31 December 2022.  

Reports from previous years

Reports for the last financial year is also available to download:

Equality and Diversity

The Equality Act 2010 (Specific Duties) (Scotland) Regulations 2012 came into force in May 2012. The key legal requirements for public authorities (which includes the Licensing Boards) contained in these specific duties are to:

Licensing Officers

Annandale and Eskdale/Nithsdale



Board membership

Annandale and Eskdale Divisional Licensing Board (6 members)

Councillor Ian Carruthers  (Convener)
Councillor Karen Carruthers
Councillor Archie Dryburgh
Councillor George Jamieson
Councillor Gail Macgregor
Councillor Stephen Thompson

Nithsdale Divisional Licensing Board (6 members)

Councillor Ivor Hyslop  (Convener)
Councillor Tony Berretti
Councillor John Campbell
Councillor Linda Dorward
Councillor Emma Jordan
Councillor Tracey Little

Stewartry Divisional Licensing Board (5 members)
Councillor Kim Lowe (Convener)
Councillor Tony Berretti
Councillor Dougie Campbell
Councillor Iain Howie
Councillor Andy McFarlane

Wigtown Divisional Licensing Board (6 members)

Councillor Andrew Giusti  (Convener)
Councillor Ben Dashper
Councillor Katie Hagmann
Councillor Chrissie Hill
Councillor David Inglis
Councillor Jackie McCamon

Board Dates


Page last updated: 04/01/2024
email icon print icon