Search site

Council elections - May 2017

The next local government elections take place on Thursday 4 May 2017.

Councillors are to be elected for each of the 12 wards of Dumfries and Galloway Council. The number of councillors to be elected for each ward is:

WardNumber of councillors
1 - Stranraer and the Rhins4
2 - Mid Galloway and Wigtown West4
3 - Dee and Glenkens3
4 - Castle Douglas and Crocketford3
5 - Abbey3
6 - North West Dumfries4
7 - Mid and Upper Nithsdale3
8 - Lochar4
9 - Nith4
10 - Annandale South4
11 - Annandale North4
12 - Annandale East and Eskdale3

Nominations for candidates closed at 4pm on Wednesday 29 March.

How to vote

The deadline for registering to vote in these elections was midnight on Monday 17 April. Registered voters will be sent a poll card telling them where and when to vote.

Applications for requesting a postal vote and postal proxy closed at 5pm on Tuesday 18 April.

You can vote by going to your nominated polling place or nominating a proxy.

Counting the votes

The votes from the Dumfries and Galloway Council elections will be counted from 9am on Friday 5 May.

The counting follows a strict procedure and votes will be counted electronically using specially designed software.

Key dates

Tuesday 25 April (5pm)Deadline for receiving new applications to vote by proxy
(not postal proxy or emergency proxies)
Thursday 4 May (7am to 10pm)Polling day
Thursday 4 May (5pm)Last time for re-issue of lost/spoilt postal votes
Thursday 4 May (5pm)Deadline for emergency proxy applications
Thursday 4 May (9pm)Last time to alter the register due to clerical error or court appeal
Friday 5 May (9am)Counting the votes
Friday 5 MayDeclaration of result 
Page last updated: 19/04/17