Search site


Dumfries and Galloway Council is run by 47 councillors who are elected every five years by the residents they represent. The council area is made up of 13 wards with either three or four Councillors in each ward.

Council elections - May 2017

The next local government elections take place on Thursday 4 May 2017. Changes to the number of councillors and wards mean that 43 councillors will be elected to 12 wards.

Find out more about the upcoming elections

Your councillors

Talk to your local councillor by contacting them directly or by attending one of their regular public surgeries.

Committee meetings

Councillors are part of committees which meet regularly and you're welcome to attend most meetings. We publish meeting papers online so you can see what will be discussed or what decisions were made. The Council diary lists all meetings involving councillors.

Political control

We have a minority Administration formed by The Scottish Labour Group and Craig Peacock (Independent). Councillor Ronnie Nicholson leads the group and is also Leader of the Council. The Depute Leader and Civic Head of the Council is Councillor Ted Thompson who is also Provost of Dumfries and Nithsdale.

There are currently five political groupings:

There are also members who aren't in a political group:

Page last updated: 03/04/17