Dumfries and Galloway Divisional Licensing Boards

The Dumfries and Galloway Licensing Boards are the statutory licensing authority under the Licensing (Scotland) Act 2005 and the Gambling Act 2005.

There are four separate Divisional Licensing Boards for Dumfries and Galloway. The Boards meet to determine relevant applications and discuss related matters.

Licensing policies and principles

The Boards are under a duty to publish a number of local policies and guidance documents which inform decision-making. These documents are reviewed regularly.

Nithsdale Divisional Licensing Board

Supplementary Policy Statement: Section 6 Licensing Scotland Act 2005

The Statement of Licensing Policy including Assessment of Overprovision for the period 2018-2023 was agreed by all four Divisional Licensing Boards (Nithsdale, Annandale and Eskdale, Stewartry and Wigtown) on 5 October 2018. This Statement was published 4 November 2018 and may be found above.

In respect of the Policy Hours for the Nithsdale Board (which may be found at paragraph 1.10 of the Statement at page 15), the reasons for these hours have been omitted from the Statement.  The reasons therefore need to be re-inserted into the Statement by means of a 'Supplementary Policy Statement'.

Please note that the insertion of reasons does not change the main terms of the Statement from what was agreed at the Hearing on 5 October 2018. The insertion of reasons seeks to clarify why the Policy Hours have been agreed by the Nithsdale Board.

The Board is undertaking a consultation which will be open from Monday 26 August to Monday 25 November 2019.

The purpose of this consultation is to draw to your attention the reasons for Nithsdale Board's Policy Hours.

If you wish to comment further please email LicensingConsultation@dumgal.gov.uk or submit comment to:

Municipal Chambers
Buccluech St

Annual reports

The boards are required to publish an Annual Functions Report and Annual Financial Report within 3 months of the end of the relevant financial year:

Reports from previous years

Reports for the last financial year is also available to download:

Board membership

Annandale and Eskdale Divisional Licensing Board (5 members)
Councillor Ian Carruthers
Councillor Archie Dryburgh
Councillor Douglas Fairbairn
Councillor Henry McClelland
Councillor Stephen Thompson

Nithsdale Divisional Licensing Board (6 members)
Councillor Jim Dempster
Councillor Ivor Hyslop
Councillor Jeff Leaver
Councillor David McKie
Councillor Elaine Murray
Councillor Davie Stitt

Stewartry Divisional Licensing Board (5 members)
Councillor Dougie Campbell
Councillor Rob Davidson
Councillor Iain Howie
Councillor Jane Maitland
Councillor John Young

Wigtown Divisional Licensing Board (6 members)

Councillor Katie Hagmann
Councillor David Inglis
Councillor Jim McColm
Councillor Graham Nicol
Councillor Tommy Sloan
Councillor Ros Surtees

Page last updated: 04/09/2019
email icon print icon Bookmark and Share