Listed buildings

There are over 3,400 buildings, objects and structures across Dumfries and Galloway which have been listed because they are considered to have special historical or architectural interest.

The aim of listing a building is to give it statutory protection from changes that will affect its special character. You must have Listed Building Consent (and maybe planning permission too) before altering, extending or demolishing any part of a listed building inside or out.

The term 'building' can include a great variety of other man-made structures such as memorials, fountains, sundials, statues and bridges.

You can search the Historic Environment Scotland website to find out which buildings are listed and a little bit about them. You can also propose a building for listing or ask for a review of a listing via Historic Environment Scotland.

Apply for Listed Building Consent

Categories and criteria

Listed buildings fall into 3 categories:

  • Category A - a building of national or international importance, or with little alteration in a particular style.
  • Category B - a building of regional importance or historically important with some alteration.
  • Category C - a building of local importance or with lesser examples of a particular style.

Advice and help about Listed Buildings and how to design change in line with policy HE1 of the Local Development Plan can be found in the Supplementary Guidance - Historic Built Environment  

Listing covers a building's interior, exterior and any object or structure fixed to it or any outbuilding which falls within the curtilage of the listed building which was there before 1 July 1948.

Questions and advice

Historic Environment Scotland  have published detailed guidance on making changes to listed buildings.

You can also contact us for general advice on the planning system and processes

Page last updated: 07/05/2019
email icon print icon