NOTICE OF ELECTION OF COMMUNITY COUNCILLORS



Elections are to be held for the return of Community Councillors who will comprise the elected Community Councils as listed below for a period of 5 years from 8am on Friday 4 October 2024 (the day after the date set for contested elections).

Nomination papers may be obtained from the Returning Officer at the details below or from the:

- Dumfries and Galloway Council website at <u>www.dumgal.gov.uk/communitycouncils</u>
- By emailing at <u>Community.Councils@dumgal.gov.uk</u>
- By calling on 030 33 33 3000

Electoral Registration Numbers are available from your Returning Officer at the details below.

Nomination papers, duly completed and signed, must be returned to the Returning Officer no later than **5pm** on **Tuesday**, **3 September 2024**.

Candidates for election may withdraw their nomination but only if they withdraw their nomination in writing to the Returning Officer no later than **5pm** on **Tuesday**, **3 September 2024**.

Should the MAXIMUM number of candidates validly nominated be more than the maximum permitted membership after the period for nominations has closed, a ballot box election will be held on **Thursday, 3 October 2024**. Those entitled to stand for election, or to propose a nomination, are those people aged 16 years or over, who live in the Community Council area and whose name appears on the current register of electors for that Community Council area as at the date of completion on the nomination form.

In the event of a ballot box election, voting at this election will be confined to those members of the electorate who attend the polling station in person. There will be no postal or proxy voting.

If the number of validly nominated candidates is equal to or more than the MINIMUM permitted membership, but does not exceed the maximum permitted membership, after the period for nominations has closed, then the said candidates will be declared to be duly elected unopposed and will assume office at **8am on 4 October 2024**. Thereafter, the Community Council will have the option to fill any remaining vacancies through the casual vacancy election or co-option process.

Should the number of candidates validly nominated be below the MINIMUM permitted membership, the Community Council shall not be established at that time. However, Dumfries and Galloway Council will work with the nominees and the wider community to take forward community engagement in the area.

Further notice will be given following the close of nominations period of 5pm on Tuesday, 3 September 2024.

The following Community Councils will all have the Returning Officer as follows:

Community Councils	Currently active? (yes or no)	Minimum/Maximum No. of Elected Members	Name of Returning Officer (RO)	RO Contact Details
AE	Yes	4/11	Kirsty Peden Returning Officer - (Community Councils) DGC Headquarters, English St Dumfries DG1 2DD	030 33 33 3000 Community.Councils@dumgal.gov.uk
AULDGIRTH & DISTRICT	Yes	4/11	Kirsty Peden Returning Officer - (Community Councils) DGC Headquarters, English St Dumfries DG1 2DD	030 33 33 3000 Community.Councils@dumgal.gov.uk
CAERLAVEROCK	No	4/11	Kirsty Peden Returning Officer - (Community Councils) DGC Headquarters, English St Dumfries DG1 2DD	030 33 33 3000 Community.Councils@dumgal.gov.uk
CARRONBRIDGE	Yes	4/11	Fiona Daubney Returning Officer - (Community Council - Carronbridge) Hillview Leisure Centre Kirkland Drive Kelloholm DG4 6ST	07500 839619 Fiona.Daubney@dumgal.gov.uk
CLOSEBURN	Yes	4/11	Kirsty Peden Returning Officer - (Community Councils) DGC Headquarters, English St Dumfries DG1 2DD	030 33 33 3000 Community.Councils@dumgal.gov.uk
CORBERRY & LAURIEKNOWE	No	5/14	Kirsty Peden Returning Officer - (Community Councils) DGC Headquarters, English St Dumfries DG1 2DD	030 33 33 3000 Community.Councils@dumgal.gov.uk
DUNSCORE	Yes	4/11	Kirsty Peden Returning Officer - (Community Councils) DGC Headquarters, English St Dumfries DG1 2DD	030 33 33 3000 Community.Councils@dumgal.gov.uk

Master Notice of CC Elections - Nithsdale CC's October 2024

DURISDEER	No	4/11	Kirsty Peden Returning Officer - (Community Councils) DGC Headquarters, English St Dumfries DG1 2DD	030 33 33 3000 Community.Councils@dumgal.gov.uk
GEORGETOWN	No	6/17	Kirsty Peden Returning Officer - (Community Councils) DGC Headquarters, English St Dumfries DG1 2DD	030 33 33 3000 Community.Councils@dumgal.gov.uk
GLENCAIRN	Yes	4/11	Kirsty Peden Returning Officer - (Community Councils) DGC Headquarters, English St Dumfries DG1 2DD	030 33 33 3000 Community.Councils@dumgal.gov.uk
HEATHHALL	Yes	5/14	Kirsty Peden Returning Officer - (Community Councils) DGC Headquarters, English St Dumfries DG1 2DD	030 33 33 3000 Community.Councils@dumgal.gov.uk
HOLYWOOD & NEWBRIDGE	No	4/11	Kirsty Peden Returning Officer - (Community Councils) DGC Headquarters, English St Dumfries DG1 2DD	030 33 33 3000 Community.Councils@dumgal.gov.uk
KEIR	Yes	4/11	Kirsty Peden Returning Officer - (Community Councils) DGC Headquarters, English St Dumfries DG1 2DD	030 33 33 3000 Community.Councils@dumgal.gov.uk
KINGHOLM QUAY	No	4/11	Kirsty Peden Returning Officer - (Community Councils) DGC Headquarters, English St Dumfries DG1 2DD	030 33 33 3000 Community.Councils@dumgal.gov.uk
KIRKCONNEL & KELLOHOLM	Yes	5/14	Fiona Daubney Returning Officer - (Community Council - Kirkconnel & Kelloholm) Hillview Leisure Centre	07500 839619 Fiona.Daubney@dumgal.gov.uk

			Kirkland Drive Kelloholm DG4 6ST	
KIRKMAHOE	Yes	4/11	Kirsty Peden Returning Officer - (Community Councils) DGC Headquarters, English St Dumfries DG1 2DD	030 33 33 3000 Community.Councils@dumgal.gov.uk
LINCLUDEN	No	5/14	Kirsty Peden Returning Officer - (Community Councils) DGC Headquarters, English St Dumfries DG1 2DD	030 33 33 3000 Community.Councils@dumgal.gov.uk
LOCHARBRIGGS	No	5/14	Kirsty Peden Returning Officer - (Community Councils) DGC Headquarters, English St Dumfries DG1 2DD	030 33 33 3000 Community.Councils@dumgal.gov.uk
LOCHSIDE & WOODLANDS	No	5/14	Kirsty Peden Returning Officer - (Community Councils) DGC Headquarters, English St Dumfries DG1 2DD	030 33 33 3000 Community.Councils@dumgal.gov.uk
LOREBURN	Yes	6/17	Kirsty Peden Returning Officer - (Community Councils) DGC Headquarters, English St Dumfries DG1 2DD	030 33 33 3000 Community.Councils@dumgal.gov.uk
PENPONT	Yes	4/11	Kirsty Peden Returning Officer - (Community Councils) DGC Headquarters, English St Dumfries DG1 2DD	030 33 33 3000 Community.Councils@dumgal.gov.uk
ROYAL BURGH OF SANQUHAR & DISTRICT	Yes	5/14	Jim Demster, Returning Officer (Community Council – RB Sanquhar) DGC Headquarters English St Dumfries DG1 2DD	07825 633167 Jim.dempster@dumgal.gov.uk
ST. MICHAEL'S	No	5/14	Kirsty Peden Returning Officer - (Community Councils) DGC Headquarters,	030 33 33 3000 Community.Councils@dumgal.gov.uk

Master Notice of CC Elections - Nithsdale CC's October 2024

				1
			English St Dumfries DG1 2DD	
SUMMERVILLE & STAKEFORD	No	5/14	Kirsty Peden Returning Officer - (Community Councils) DGC Headquarters, English St Dumfries DG1 2DD	030 33 33 3000 Community.Councils@dumgal.gov.uk
THORNHILL	Yes	5/14	Kirsty Peden Returning Officer - (Community Councils) DGC Headquarters, English St Dumfries DG1 2DD	030 33 33 3000 Community.Councils@dumgal.gov.uk
TINWALD PARISH	Yes	4/11	Kirsty Peden Returning Officer - (Community Councils) DGC Headquarters, English St Dumfries DG1 2DD	030 33 33 3000 Community.Councils@dumgal.gov.uk
TORTHORWALD	Yes	5/14	Kirsty Peden Returning Officer - (Community Councils) DGC Headquarters, English St Dumfries DG1 2DD	030 33 33 3000 Community.Councils@dumgal.gov.uk
TYNRON	Yes	4/11	Jill Burgess The Garth Tynron DG3 4JY	01848 200479 Jillburgess09@gmail.com
WANLOCKHEAD	Yes	4/11	Kirsty Peden Returning Officer - (Community Councils) DGC Headquarters, English St Dumfries DG1 2DD	030 33 33 3000 Community.Councils@dumgal.gov.uk