NOTICE OF ELECTION OF COMMUNITY COUNCILLORS



Elections are to be held for the return of Community Councillors who will comprise the elected Community Councils as listed below for a period of 5 years from 8am on Friday 4 October 2024 (the day after the date set for contested elections).

Nomination papers may be obtained from the Returning Officer at the details below or from the:

- Dumfries and Galloway Council website at www.dumgal.gov.uk/communitycouncils
- By emailing at Community.Councils@dumgal.gov.uk
- By calling on 030 33 33 3000

Electoral Registration Numbers are available from your Returning Officer at the details below.

Nomination papers, duly completed and signed, must be returned to the Returning Officer no later than **5pm** on **Tuesday**, **3 September 2024**.

Candidates for election may withdraw their nomination but only if they withdraw their nomination in writing to the Returning Officer no later than **5pm** on **Tuesday**, **3 September 2024**.

Should the MAXIMUM number of candidates validly nominated be more than the maximum permitted membership after the period for nominations has closed, a ballot box election will be held on **Thursday**, **3 October 2024**. Those entitled to stand for election, or to propose a nomination, are those people aged 16 years or over, who live in the Community Council area and whose name appears on the current register of electors for that Community Council area as at the date of completion on the nomination form.

In the event of a ballot box election, voting at this election will be confined to those members of the electorate who attend the polling station in person. There will be no postal or proxy voting.

If the number of validly nominated candidates is equal to or more than the MINIMUM permitted membership, but does not exceed the maximum permitted membership, after the period for nominations has closed, then the said candidates will be declared to be duly elected unopposed and will assume office at **8am on 4 October 2024**. Thereafter, the Community Council will have the option to fill any remaining vacancies through the casual vacancy election or co-option process.

Should the number of candidates validly nominated be below the MINIMUM permitted membership, the Community Council shall not be established at that time. However, Dumfries and Galloway Council will work with the nominees and the wider community to take forward community engagement in the area.

Further notice will be given following the close of nominations period of 5pm on Tuesday, 3 September 2024.

The following Community Councils will all have the Returning Officer as follows:

Community Councils	Currently active? (yes or no)	Minimum/ Maximum No. of Elected	Name of Returning Officer (RO)	RO Contact Details
		Members		

BRYDEKIRK & DISTRICT	No	4/11	Kirsty Peden Returning Officer - (Community Councils) DGC Headquarters, English St Dumfries DG1 2DD	030 33 33 3000 Community.Councils@dumgal.gov.u k
CANONBIE & DISTRICT	Yes	5/14	Kirsty Peden Returning Officer - (Community Councils) DGC Headquarters, English St Dumfries DG1 2DD	030 33 33 3000 Community.Councils@dumgal.gov.u k
CUMMERTREES & CUMMERTREES WEST	Yes	4/11	Jaime Nichsolson, Returning Officer (Community Council – Commertrees) Annan Town Hall, Main Street, Annan	01461 207012/ 07920 528129 Jaime.Nicholson@dumgal.gov.uk
DALTON & CARRUTHERSTOWN	Yes	4/11	Kirsty Peden Returning Officer - (Community Councils) DGC Headquarters, English St Dumfries DG1 2DD	030 33 33 3000 Community.Councils@dumgal.gov.u k
EASTRIGGS, DORNOCK & CRECA	No	5/14	Kirsty Peden Returning Officer - (Community Councils) DGC Headquarters, English St Dumfries DG1 2DD	030 33 33 3000 Community.Councils@dumgal.gov.u k
ESKDALEMUIR	Yes	4/11	Kirsty Peden Returning Officer - (Community Councils) DGC Headquarters, English St Dumfries DG1 2DD	030 33 33 3000 Community.Councils@dumgal.gov.u k
GRETNA & RIGG	Yes	5/14	Kirsty Peden Returning Officer - (Community Councils) DGC Headquarters, English St Dumfries DG1 2DD	030 33 33 3000 Community.Councils@dumgal.gov.u k
HODDOM & ECCLEFECHAN	Yes	4/11	Kirsty Peden Returning Officer - (Community Councils) DGC Headquarters, English St Dumfries DG1 2DD	030 33 33 3000 Community.Councils@dumgal.gov.u k

JOHNSTONE	No	4/11	Kirsty Peden Returning Officer - (Community Councils) DGC Headquarters, English St Dumfries DG1 2DD	030 33 33 3000 Community.Councils@dumgal.gov.u k
KIRKMICHAEL	Yes	4/11	Kirsty Peden Returning Officer - (Community Councils) DGC Headquarters, English St Dumfries DG1 2DD	030 33 33 3000 Community.Councils@dumgal.gov.u k
KIRKPATRICK FLEMING & DISTRICT	Yes	4/11	Archie Dryburgh, MBE Returning Officer (Community Council – Kirkpatrick Fleming), DGC Headquarters English St Dumfries DG1 2DD	07825 633187 Archie.Dryburgh@dumgal.gov.uk
KIRKPATRICK JUXTA	Yes	4/11	Kirsty Peden Returning Officer - (Community Councils) DGC Headquarters, English St Dumfries DG1 2DD	030 33 33 3000 Community.Councils@dumgal.gov.u k
KIRTLE & EAGLESFIELD	Yes	4/11	Kirsty Peden Returning Officer - (Community Councils) DGC Headquarters, English St Dumfries DG1 2DD	030 33 33 3000 Community.Councils@dumgal.gov.u k
LANGHOLM, EWES & WESTERKIRK	Yes	5/14	Kirsty Peden Returning Officer - (Community Councils) DGC Headquarters, English St Dumfries DG1 2DD	030 33 33 3000 Community.Councils@dumgal.gov.u k
LOCKERBIE & DISTRICT	Yes	6/17	Kirsty Peden Returning Officer - (Community Councils) DGC Headquarters, English St Dumfries DG1 2DD	030 33 33 3000 Community.Councils@dumgal.gov.u k
MIDDLEBIE & WATERBECK	Yes	4/11	Kirsty Peden Returning Officer - (Community Councils) DGC Headquarters, English St Dumfries DG1 2DD	030 33 33 3000 Community.Councils@dumgal.gov.u k

MOFFAT & DISTRICT	Yes	5/14	Steven Wylie Returning Officer (Community Councils – Moffat) Lockerbie Town Hall, Lockerbie.	01387 260365/ 07824 528410 Steven.Wylie@dumgal.gov.uk
MOUSWALD	Yes	4/11	Kirsty Peden Returning Officer - (Community Councils) DGC Headquarters, English St Dumfries DG1 2DD	030 33 33 3000 Community.Councils@dumgal.gov.u k
NORTH MILK	Yes	4/11	Kirsty Peden Returning Officer - (Community Councils) DGC Headquarters, English St Dumfries DG1 2DD	030 33 33 3000 Community.Councils@dumgal.gov.u k
ROYAL BURGH OF ANNAN	Yes	6/17	Kirsty Peden Returning Officer - (Community Councils) DGC Headquarters, English St Dumfries DG1 2DD	030 33 33 3000 Community.Councils@dumgal.gov.u k
ROYAL BURGH OF LOCHMABEN & DISTRICT	Yes	5/14	Kirsty Peden Returning Officer - (Community Councils) DGC Headquarters English St Dumfries DG1 2DD	030 33 33 3000 Community.Councils@dumgal.gov.u k
ROYAL FOUR TOWNS	Yes	4/11	Kirsty Peden Returning Officer - (Community Councils) DGC Headquarters, English St Dumfries DG1 2DD	030 33 33 3000 Community.Councils@dumgal.gov.u k
RUTHWELL AND CLARENCEFIELD	Yes	4/11	Mr C. Proctor East Cottage Knockhardy Clarencefield DG1 4NF	01387 870615 charliepro@hotmail.co.uk
SPRINGFIELD & GRETNA GREEN	Yes	4/11	Kirsty Peden Returning Officer - (Community Councils) DGC Headquarters, English St Dumfries DG1 2DD	030 33 33 3000 Community.Councils@dumgal.gov.u <u>k</u>
TEMPLAND	Yes	4/11	Kirsty Peden	030 33 33 3000

			Returning Officer - (Community Councils) DGC Headquarters, English St Dumfries DG1 2DD	Community.Councils@dumgal.gov.u k
WAMPHRAY	Yes	4/11	Stephen Thompson, Returning Officer (Community Council Wamphray) DGC Headquarters English St Dumfries DG1 2DD	07825 633151 Stephen.Thompson@dumgal.gov,uk